COCONUT & PRALINE BAKED ALASKA

by Marie Laforêt

Marie Laforêt is a culinary author and photographer, she has published 17 vegan cookbooks including the bestseller Vegan , a real encyclopedia of 500 recipes. Today it is considered as a benchmark for vegan cuisine in France. Marie Laforêt works as an author and photographer for publishing, the press and companies wishing to offer ethical solutions. She also works as a vegan culinary consultant and supports the creation of recipes and products.

We are happy that Marie has agreed to share with us one of her recipes from her book "My Vegan Christmas Recipes" published by Solar made with YUMGO White! Thank you !

omelette-norvegienne.jpg
Mes plats de noël vegan - C.jpg

We know it in two forms: log style or bomb style. I find this shape much more fun and spectacular for the holidays. The principle of this frozen dessert so trendy in the 80s? Ice cream covered with Italian meringue. Everything lies in the contrast of textures and temperatures.

 

LEVEL : medium - FOR 10 people

INGREDIENTS

For the coconut ice cream

400 ml coconut milk                 3 cans

Blond cane sugar                       175 gr

Vanilla powder                      3 pinches

For the meringue

YUMGO White                           100 gr

Icing sugar                                150 gr

Vanilla powder                         1 pinch

Praline                                         50 gr

PREPARATION

1. Mix the coconut milk, sugar and vanilla in a blender at full power. Set in an ice cream maker or ice cream maker. The ice must be well set, otherwise it will crystallize. Pour into a large half-sphere mold or into a small salad bowl wrapped in film or covered with baking paper (but the latter makes more folds) and place in the freezer for 24 hours (or until ready to serve).

 

2. Make the meringue at the last moment. Whip the YUMGO Blanc into firm snow at full power using an electric mixer or a pastry robot. Add the sifted sugar and whisk at full power until you obtain the so-called “bird's beak” texture (when the meringue forms a beak on the whisk). Place the meringue in a pocket fitted with a large fluted nozzle. Preserve a little bit.

 

3. In the center of the serving dish, poach a layer of meringue. Unmold the ice cream and put it on the dish, the meringue will hold it a little. With the preserved meringue, brush the ice cream in a thin layer. Cover the praline ice cream. Collect the praline that has fallen on the dish and keep it. Poach the meringue all around the ice cream bomb. Start at the bottom by forming a circle all around the base of the ice cream then superimpose other circles to the top.

 

4. Lightly caramelize the meringue with a blowtorch and serve. Cut into slices, like a cake.

 

5. This dessert cannot be kept. Once the ice cream has been served, it cannot be returned to the freezer.

 

MY PRO TIP

 

If you want to make individual versions, pour the ice cream into half-sphere silicone molds and pipe the meringue with a small fluted nozzle. You can also create a sponge cake base for this Norwegian omelet with the hazelnut sponge cake recipe

OMELETTE NORVEGIENNE COCO & PRALIN

par Marie Laforêt

Marie Laforêt est auteure culinaire et photographe, elle a publié 17 livres de cuisine vegan dont le bestseller Vegan, véritable encyclopédie de 500 recettes. Elle est aujourd’hui considérée comme une  référence sur la cuisine vegan en France. Marie Laforêt travaille comme auteure et photographe pour l’édition, la presse et les entreprises qui souhaitent proposer des solution éthiques. Elle travaille aussi comme consultante culinaire vegan et accompagne la création de recettes et produits. 

Nous sommes heureux que Marie ait accepté de partager avec nous l'une de ses recettes de son livre "Mes Plats de Noël Vegan" aux éditions Solar réalisée avec YUMGO Blanc ! Merci !

omelette-norvegienne.jpg
Mes plats de noël vegan - C.jpg

On la connaît sous deux formes : façon bûche ou façon bombe. Je trouve cette forme beaucoup plus amusante et spectaculaire pour les fêtes. Le principe de ce dessert glacé si tendance dans les années 80? Une glace recouverte de meringue italienne. Tout réside dans le contraste de textures et de températures.

 

NIVEAU : moyen - POUR 10 personnes

INGREDIENTS

Pour la glace coco

Lait de coco de 400 ml           3 boîtes

Sucre de canne blond               175 gr

Vanille en poudre                 3 pincées 
 

Pour la meringue

YUMGO Blanc                           100 gr 

Sucre glace                               150 gr 

Vanille en poudre                    1pincée 

Pralin                                          50 gr

PREPARATION

1. Mixer le lait de coco, le sucre et la vanille au blender à pleine puissance. Faire prendre en sorbetière ou en turbine à glace. La glace doit être bien prise, sans quoi elle va cristalliser. Verser dans un grand moule en demi-sphère ou dans un petit saladier filmé ou recouvert de papier cuisson (mais ce dernier fait plus de plis) et placer au congélateur 24 heures (ou jusqu’au moment de servir).

 

2. Réaliser la meringue au dernier moment. Monter le YUMGO Blanc en neige bien ferme à pleine puissance à l’aide d’un batteur électrique ou d’un robot pâtissier. Ajouter le sucre tamisé et fouetter à pleine puissance jusqu’à obtenir la texture dite du « bec d’oiseau » (quand la meringue forme un bec sur le fouet). Placer la meringue dans une poche munie d’une grosse douille cannelée. En préserver un petit peu.

 

3. Au centre du plat de service, pocher une couche de meringue. Démouler la glace et la poser sur le plat, la meringue va la maintenir un peu. Avec la meringue préservée, badigeonner la glace au pinceau en fine couche. Recouvrir la glace de pralin. Récupérer le pralin tombé sur le plat et le conserver. Pocher la meringue tout autour de la bombe glacée. Commencer par le bas en formant un cercle tout autour de la base de la glace puis superposer d’autres cercles jusqu’au sommet.

 

4. Caraméliser légèrement la meringue au chalumeau et servir. Couper en parts, comme un gâteau.

 

5. Ce dessert ne se conserve pas. Une fois la glace servie, elle ne peut être remise au congélateur.

 

MON CONSEIL DE PRO

 

Si vous souhaitez réaliser des versions individuelles, verser la glace dans des moules demi-sphères en silicone et pocher la meringue avec une petite douille cannelée. Vous pouvez également créer une base de génoise pour cette omelette norvégienne avec la recette de génoise à la noisette